Packington Old Hall
Packington was one of Lancelot ‘Capability’ Brown’s earliest commissions. He visited in 1750 & produced a plan in 1751 for Hall Lake & surrounding planting which was gradually implemented.
In 1748 Lord Guernsey wrote to Brown who was already working at neighbouring Newnham Paddox & Warwick Castle. A sketch plan for Packington was produced c. 1750.
A second plan of 1751 shows ideas for a new lake, Hall Pool, created from earlier fish & mill ponds, along with the remodelling of Great Pool, elevations for proposed gates, a lodge in park, a triple-arched bridge & a grotto.
The plan was implemented piecemeal over a period of years but many of proposed buildings remained unbuilt.
Packington Hall is one of group of sites in Warwickshire at which Brown advised in mid & late C18th including Charlecote Park, Compton Verney, Combe Abbey, Newnham Paddox, & Warwick Castle.
Later, Lord Guernsey, now 3rd Earl of Aylesford, rebuilt & enlarged the late C17th house with Matthew Brettingham*as his architect.The landscape was completed & expanded in 1760s & 1770s under supervision of third Earl's agent, John Wedge. The old London to Holyhead road which ran to east of Hall was diverted outside park c 1760.
Third Earl died in 1777 & fourth Earl commissioned Joseph Bonomi to make alterations to Hall & rebuild parish church in park. He developed park & pleasure grounds in a picturesque style with 'an air of wildness' and late C18 & early C19 plans for pleasure grounds & other features survive.
The estate remained within the Aylesford family in C19th & C20th & remains in private ownership.
*Brettingham, born 1699, was the son of another Launcelot. His father Launcelot Brettingham (1664–1727) was a bricklayer or stonemason from Norwich in Norfolk.